To be Vegan or Not To be Vegan? EAT TO LIVE.

So, I go for a visit the other weekend to my parents house and they tell me that they have decided to go Vegan. This is completely random and not-so-expected out of my wonderful, yet somewhat conservative folks. My Dad says hes been reading this book, Eat to Live, and it has completely changed his life and what he thinks about food.

I love food, its one of my passions to attend culinary school and become a chef one day. Although, after browsing through some of the sections in this book, I’ve seriously considered the dietary change of becoming a Vegan and how is would affect me. Some of it really makes sense.

The Book.

Like, for instance, all the more fat that you take in through meat, fish, chicken and oils, which are useless calories, are not very nutritious after all.  It’s tough for the body to use the protein in those foods, and the fat that you wear on your hips and your belly is basically the fat that you eat.

Another fact is, that the 3 major killers in our society unique to North America are Diabeties, Heart Disease and Cancer. In conutries where they have less meat, they don’t have the same problems. But how can you help it eating the way most Americans do?

So, I’m still very undecided, tell me your thoughts on this subject and help me decide what path to choose.

signature

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “To be Vegan or Not To be Vegan? EAT TO LIVE.

  1. Hi Ali,

    As you may have guessed from my username I am a vegan and have been for over a year now.

    This may surprise you but I’m saying don’t rush into deciding to go vegan. I haven’t read that book, but it does sound like an interesting starting point.
    Do your research, find out how to balance your diet and some of the issues surrounding the vegan lifestyle (it’s more than just a “diet”), and see if it’s something that resonates with you.

    Search “vegan” on the WordPress tag surfer to find interesting blogs on the subject.

    Have fun!

    ~QV

  2. Ashley

    I say it’s a fabulous idea to go vegan, but it’s pretty difficult living in a place where the majority of people don’t know what it means. You need the discipline of cooking for yourself every meal and keeping your kitchen stocked with fresh ingredients. It’s easier to go the route of demi-vege, like me. Good luck figuring it out Ali!

  3. I’ve been vegan for just over a year (vegetarian 15 yrs before that). It was a difficult decision at the time, so I feel your pain, but I have never regretted it.

    I’d like to address your question, how to do it? I think most non-vegans have no idea what vegans eat. I mean, there is a big hole on the plate when you take away the animal products, probably even bigger than you think, and it can seem a daunting hole to fill.

    Eat to Live probably has a lot of suggestions; I am not sure, but I think Fuhrman might have more restrictions than veganism, such as no gluten or sugar? I only eliminate animal products. My blog is also meant to answer that question (what to eat) and show that what I eat is satisfying. I have read blogs of people trying veganism, and they are starving on carrot sticks in hummus. You might skim a few posts and see if the food appeals to you.

    I think if you look into vegan nutrition and recipes a bit, such as at vrg.org, you can find a way to fit veganism into your lifestyle. If you eat out a lot, you will probably find that more difficult, but you may also be inspired to cook more, and begin to like it.

    If you want to know more about the health effects of eating animal products, I would recommend the book The China Study.

  4. Lee Ibrahim

    I wish you and your parents the best of luck in whatever choice you make. I’ve been vegan for over four years now. If you try it, just realize it takes a little time to get used to. My first few days were tough. I converted from meat eater to vegetarian at the snap of a finger and to vegan within 3 weeks. Using fake meats for sandwiches, veggie burgers, and things like that make it much easier in the transition. Over time, I started exploring new ways to cook and eat and can’t tell you just how happy I am now. I feel better emotionally, physically, and my doctor has told me it probably saved my life (my blood pressure dropped to a fantastic level after years of issues, my cholesterol is very good now, my energy level is through the roof). Give it a try, what can it hurt? If you hate it and it doesn’t work after a couple weeks of trying, at least you gave it a shot. People ask me now how I do it. I tell them I don’t even think about it. I know where to go out and eat and what to look for in ingredients. It’s so easy. But you have to want to do it. Hit me up if you want suggestions on the best products to try. I went through some $$$ by trying things out, taking a bite, and throwing the whole the thing away. Good luck!

  5. Hana-li

    Hey Ali,
    I think there is a lot to consider and there are a lot of opinions on both sides.
    There are going to be health risks from eating meat and other health risks from not eating meat.
    Some people will tell you that soy is good for you while others will say it’s horrible.
    Oils are very important to health but only certain ones and the right amounts.
    So…my suggestion to you is just REALLY research it and alternatives to it.
    There are plenty of things one can do to improve their health and their diet without being vegan and I’m sure being vegan also has many benefits for a lot of people.
    So just make sure that whatever you decide will be the healthiest and best choice for you and your body since we’re all different.
    🙂
    H

  6. Thanks everyone for your responses!

    I think I will do a little more research like some of you suggested, and maybe Ill even read the whole book!

    Ali

  7. newterraliving

    Ali–
    I’m going to go ahead and take the complete opposite stance.
    Please DO NOT go vegan.
    1. It’s extremely difficult on your social life.
    2. I almost never meet a vegan who can refrain from getting a bit preach-y now and again.
    3. If you wanna be a chef… you are going to have to do a lot of tasting.
    4. Humans didn’t evolve to eat meat for no reason. There must be some science to the evolution of the human diet… it wasn’t a sheer coincidence. To try to un-do years and years of development from digesting raw meat to digesting cooked meat would be almost crazy.
    5. It’s not the meat that’s killing people. It’s how the meat is raised.

    It just seems like a really unnecessary move. Eat right. Be happy. But please… don’t become a righteous, healthivore.

    I love you dearly. Good luck.

    • G, you make a lot of good points, especially the chef one. hmmm….So far I have stayed non-v, maybe in the future it will change. who knows, but I had a big meaty sandwich today, and I really enjoyed it.
      Spence taught me how to make the best panini in the world with our panini maker. I don’t think I can give it up! Even though Ive decided right now not to go totally Vegan, I will be getting more of my protein from sources like beans and veggies.

      Thank you everyone!

Leave a Reply

